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July 5, 2023 
 
 
Crafted Downeast, LLC 
Elizabeth “Beth” Carpenter – Owner 
Robert “Scott” Carpenter - Officer 
1451 Cutler Road 
Cutler, ME 04426 
 
CC: Kenneth Fredette, Esq. 
264 Moosehead Trail 
Newport, ME 04953 
 
RE: Violations of Title 26 MRS. Inspection #450495 
 
Dear Elizabeth and Robert Carpenter, 
  
When our Inspector investigated complaints against your place of business in August 2020 and points 
thereafter, the following violations of Maine’s Labor laws were found.  
 
26 MRS §591-A Employee Misclassification - An employer that intentionally or knowingly 
misclassifies an employee as an independent contractor commits a civil violation for which a fine of not 
less than $2,000 and not more than $10,000 per violation may be adjudged. A determination of 
misclassification of a worker as an independent contractor may result in the assessment of penalties under 
section 1051, 1082, 1225 or Title 39-A, section 105-A or 324. 
 
In this case, the employer operates a woodworking shop. , and 

 all performed general laborer duties in the woodworking shop at the direction of the 
employer. These workers do not meet the employment standards criteria required for independent 
contractor status in Maine. Inspector  gave a copy of the employment standard to Mr. Carpenter 
on 08/05/2020. The employer continued to pay  as an independent contractor through 
October 2020 and  through November 2020. 
 
With respect to criterion 1(a) of the employment standard, the employer exercised control of the means 
and progress of the work being performed. 
Statements provided by the employer, Elizabeth Carpenter and employees  

 verified that the employer would assign tasks that needed to be 
completed by the workers and the work was performed in the employer’s shops or locations assigned by 
the employer. The employer would instruct the workers on what tasks needed to be completed as well as 
instructions on the specifications of each job.  
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With respect to criterion 1(b), the individuals performing the work were not customarily engaged in an 
independently established trade. 
Statements provided by the employer, Elizabeth Carpenter and employees  

 failed to show that the individuals had independently established 
businesses and they did not provide wood working services or cleaning services to others. The employer 
stated that the workers did not provide invoices but reported their hours worked on a calendar that the 
employer kept in the business. 
 
With respect to criterion 1(c) , the investigation revealed facts showing that the individuals had no 
opportunity for profit and loss as a result of services being performed for the employer. 
Questionnaires and statements provided verified that the workers were paid by the hour. None of the 
workers could have a profit or loss from their work at Crafted Downeast. Equipment and materials were 
provided by Crafted Downeast. 
 
With respect to criterion 1(d), the investigation revealed facts showing the workers did not hire assistants 
nor would it have been allowed. 
 
With respect to criterion 1(e), the investigation revealed facts showing the individuals did not make their 
services available to the community. 
Statements provided by the employer, Elizabeth Carpenter and employees  

 state they did advertise their services. However, they could not verify this, and they also stated 
they did not work for anyone else as an independent contractor. 
Statement provided by  indicate he did not advertise or make his services available to the 
community. 
 
Having failed to pass all 5 criteria of section 1 of the employment standard, it is determined that the work 
performed by  was, in fact, employment. 
 
2 violations x $2,000 = $4,000.  
 
26 MRS §622 Records requires that employers keep a true record showing the date and amount paid to 
each employee.  Every employer shall keep a daily record of the time worked by each such employee.  
Records required to be kept by this section must be accessible to any representative of the department at 
any reasonable hour. 
 
In this case, the employer failed to keep a daily record of the hours worked for  for each 
of the 10 weeks she worked between 08/10/2020 and 10/11/2020. 10 violations 
 
The employer failed to keep a daily record of the hours worked for  for work 
performed in November 2020. 1 violation 
 
26 MRS §626-A PENALTIES Whoever violates any of the provisions of sections 621-A to 623 or 
section 626, 628, 628-A, 629 or 629-B is subject to a forfeiture of not less than $100 nor more than $500 
for each violation. 
 
11 violations of §622 x $100 = $1,100. 
 
26 MRS §665 (1) Pay Statement requires that employers provide to the employee with each payment of 
wages a statement which clearly shows the date of the pay period, hours worked, total earnings and 
itemized deductions. 
 
In this case, the employer failed to provide a detailed pay statement to  with each 
payment of wages between 08/10/2020 and 10/11/2020. 10 violations 
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The employer failed to provide a detailed pay statement to  with each payment of 
wages in November 2020. 1 violation 
 
26 MRS §671 PENALTIES Any employer who violates this subchapter shall, upon conviction thereof, 
be punished by a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $200. In the event of the violation of any of the 
provisions of this subchapter, the Attorney General may institute injunction proceedings in the Superior 
Court to enjoin further violation thereof. 
 
11 violations of §665(1)) x $50 = $550.00 
 
The total penalty for the above violation(s) is $5,650.00.   
 
Make checks payable to the “Treasurer, State of Maine” 
 
The violations identified above will become a final order within fifteen (15) business days from 
the day it was received unless you request a penalty discussion or file an appeal within 15 
business days.  
(see employer options below)  
 
 
Employer options (within 15 business days): 
 
If you intend to correct all violations identified and wish to work with the Wage & Hour 
Division to possibly reduce the penalty amount, you may request a “Penalty Discussion”.  This 
discussion will pertain only to the penalty(s) and not the violation(s).  All proposed penalties will 
be stayed until after the penalty discussion. 
 
         Or 
 
You may file a formal appeal of any violation or penalty within fifteen (15) days of receipt of 
this citation. Please be specific as to what violation(s) or penalty you wish to appeal. If a request 
for a formal appeal is received, the Director will set a time and date for a “hearing”.  The 
Director will serve as the hearing officer or may assign the appeal to the Administrative Hearings 
Division within the Department of Labor. The hearing will be at the headquarters of the Bureau 
or at a place mutually agreeable to the parties. All proposed penalties will be stayed until after 
the formal appeal is heard. 
 
As the employer, you must respond in writing to the Director of the Bureau, at the address above, 
within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of this report stating what option you intend to 
choose.  If no response is received within that time frame you accept all citations and any 
penalties assessed. The citation will become a final order and payment will be due at that time, 
made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine” and mailed to the address at the top of this 
citation. 
 
We strongly recommend that any correspondence be sent by certified mail.  Failure to correct 
violations may result in additional penalties for each violation that is not corrected. 
 
If you have questions regarding this citation, you may contact the Bureau of Labor Standards, 
Wage & Hour Division at (207) 623-7900. 
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Dates to remember: 
 
Respond in writing, to the Director of the Bureau within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of 
this citation indicating what option you choose. 
 
 
Respectfully,       

        
Scott Cotnoir, Director 
Wage and Hour Division 
Inspection # 450495  
 




